Delete a cluster

This is a guide on how to delete a CrateDB Cloud cluster. It consists of two parts: one describes the process of deleting a cluster created through Microsoft Azure, the other is for a cluster created through AWS. For Azure, there are in turn two methods: via the CrateDB Cloud Console and through the Azure Portal. Each are outlined in the Azure section.

Although the general documentation for the CrateDB Cloud Console explains how you can delete a cluster specifically within the Console, this tutorial provides a step-by-step guide for all methods of deleting a CrateDB Cloud cluster. This is to make the process more transparent and easier to find and use.

Warning

All cluster data will be lost on deletion. This action cannot be undone.

Table of contents

Microsoft Azure

If you have followed the steps of our tutorial on how to set up a cluster from scratch via Microsoft Azure, you should have one running. (If not, refer to that tutorial for instructions.) If you created your CrateDB Cloud cluster via the Microsoft Azure offering, you have two different ways to delete a cluster once it has been created. The first is through the CrateDB Cloud Console itself; the second is via the Microsoft Azure SaaS listing. We will describe each process below.

Deleting a cluster via the CrateDB Cloud Console

The easiest and preferred way to delete a cluster is via the CrateDB Cloud Console. Make sure you are logged in to the Console with a user that has org admin access. (For more on what that means, please see our documentation on user roles.)

In the Console, first we have to select the correct project within which the cluster was deployed. To do this, go to the Projects page. Here you will see an overview of all projects. (If you followed the previous tutorial, there should be just one.)

Cloud Console projects overview

Select the relevant project by clicking on it. Make sure the correct region is displayed in the regions dropdown menu to see the correct project, or select ‘All’ in the dropdown menu.

Next, we need to display the cluster in question. To do this, we need to access the Cluster Settings page in the left-hand sidebar, below the divider line. The name of the cluster you have created should appear in this sidebar; simply click on it and the menu will ‘roll out’, showing the Settings option. This is the one we want. Clicking this will lead to the Cluster Settings page for the cluster.

Cloud Console cluster settings

On this page, you will see size and scaling information for the cluster in question. You can delete the cluster here as well. Simply click the bin icon at the top right. It will ask for confirmation; provide it and the cluster will be deleted.

Deleting a cluster via the Microsoft Azure Portal

As an alternative option, you can also delete a cluster - once deployment has been confirmed in the CrateDB Cloud Console - directly via the Microsoft Azure Portal. If you followed the tutorial on deploying a cluster from scratch using the Azure Marketplace, you will already be familiar with it.

To delete a cluster via the Azure Portal, first we must head to the Azure Portal homepage. Make sure you are logged in with the correct account while on this page.

If all is well, you should be able to see a section titled Azure Services on the landing page. If you have recently used a SaaS resource, you should find in this overview the item “Software as a Service (SaaS)”. If this item is not present in the list, go to the search bar at the top (which says search resources, services, and docs) and enter “SaaS” there. The SaaS item should then appear in the list of results.

Azure Portal services menu

Click on this icon. If you have subscribed to the CrateDB Cloud offer and have deployed a cluster previously, the cluster name should now appear in the list of SaaS items.

Azure Portal SaaS subscriptions list

All that remains is to click directly on the relevant cluster name (you do not need to tick the box). This will take you to a screen with cluster details.

Azure Portal SaaS cluster details

To delete the cluster, press the Delete button at the top right and confirm.

AWS

Deleting a cluster via the AWS Marketplace

You can deploy a cluster on CrateDB Cloud via AWS by subscribing to our offer on the AWS Marketplace. The offer will refer you to the CrateDB Cloud wizard where you can configure your plan and cluster. Finally, this process will lead you to the CrateDB Cloud Console.

To delete a cluster created in this way, you must unsubscribe from the AWS Marketplace offer. To do so, go to the AWS Marketplace landing page. Make sure you are logged in with the account with which you have subscribed to the offer.

On the landing page, find your account name in the top right corner, and in the dropdown menu, select Your Marketplace Software.

AWS Marketplace landing page

This will take you to an overview of your AWS Marketplace subscriptions. You should see CrateDB Cloud there. Each subscription item has a button labelled Manage. Click this button for CrateDB Cloud.

AWS Marketplace subscription management page

You will now see a page with the CrateDB Cloud “pay as you go” offer on it. At the top right corner there is a button labelled Actions.

AWS Marketplace subscription CrateDB Cloud

This generates a drop-down menu with various options for interacting with the offer. In this menu, click the option Cancel subscription.

A warning will appear, stating that cancelling the subscription will not terminate your running services. Do not worry: upon receiving a notice of cancellation of the subscription, the CrateDB Cloud team will terminate your running services for you. Therefore, you can safely cancel your subscription at this prompt to delete your cluster.

Billing

Crate.io only bills for actual cluster usage. During cluster operation, this is on a per-hour basis. As soon as the cluster is deleted, nothing further will be billed for that cluster.

Feedback

How helpful was this page?